Author Topic: PTR mint mark... Trier?  (Read 2766 times)

Offline ae22

PTR mint mark... Trier?
« on: July 16, 2013, 07:18:24 PM »
Greetings everyone,

My name is Scott. I'm relatively new to collecting ancient coins (2.5 yrs.).

After one year I thought I had a pretty good handle on things, but now I realize that I really don't  know a great deal, especially what is committed to memory. I can research pretty good, but the field of ancient coins is so vast it's hard for me to remember everything I read. Perhaps it's my age.

Anyway, the first ancient coin I acquired was a Constantinopolis commemorative. Once I finally identified it I began collecting those types and now have quite a few. I also have a number of other LRB's and hope to post some of them for your comments.

For this one I wasn't sure whether to post it here, or in 'unidentified', so if it needs to be moved please, by all means.

I have spoken about it with Lech from NOT IN RIC and his opinion was that it is a possible ancient imitation.

My original theory was that it was made with the early mint mark of PTR, that was used at Trier just before the Constantinopolis was issued.

But as you can see the it's not really of the Trier style.

If you have an opinion of it I would love to hear it.

Thanks 

Offline Victor

• Administrator
  • all my best friends are dead Romans
    • Victor's Imperial Coins
Re: PTR mint mark... Trier?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, 07:48:54 PM »
Hello Scott and welcome. I would agree with Lech that it looks like an unofficial issue. At first glance, the style does not look quite right, and the obvious issue with the mintmark and the star in the field. Even though I would say it is unofficial, it is a very neat example.

I used to collect these Constantinople coins and made a page about them-
http://www.constantinethegreatcoins.com/comm/

Offline ae22

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2013, 08:23:25 PM »