Author Topic: Help on this one?  (Read 853 times)

Offline Arv

Help on this one?
« on: October 04, 2020, 05:03:10 PM »
Im new to ancient coins, and I'm having a hard time with this one, it's pretty rough. I adjusted the photo a little to try and make the details stand up as best as possible. Any help would be appreciated. Size approx. 19x21mm and 2.9-3.0 grams

Offline Victor

• Administrator
  • all my best friends are dead Romans
    • Victor's Imperial Coins
Re: Help on this one?
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2020, 06:42:45 PM »
Hello Arv and welcome.

I am not completely sure myself, but on the obverse I seem to be able to make out the end of the legend as LIANVS AVG which makes me think Aurelian. The reverse is a common theme with several different types; but I have included an example below that seems similar to yours, though it seems your coin  has a draped and cuirassed bust. I also seem to be able to make out VT (like in RESTITVT) in the reverse legnd of your coin.

I can also maybe see your reverse ending with MIANVS AVG; which would make it Maximianus and the last picture below is a similar reverse type.

So, unfortunately, I am not sure.

Aurelian
A.D. 270- 275
Ӕ Antoninianus
22mm    3.3gm
IMP C AVRELIANVS AVG; radiate & cuirassed bust right.
RESTITVT ORBIS; Victory, holding palm, presenting wreath to Aurelian, who stands right with his left hand outstretched and holding a spear; S in center.
In ex. XXI
RIC Vi Antioch 386

Maximianus
A.D. 293
21x22mm   3.5gm
IMP C M A MAXIMIANVS AVG, radiate and draped bust right.
CONCORDIA MILITVM, Emperor standing right in military dress, receiving Victory on globe from Jupiter leaning on scepter, S between.
In ex. XXI•
RIC V Cyzicus 607

Offline Arv

Re: Help on this one?
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2020, 11:38:24 AM »