General discussion > General Discussion

New collector

(1/3) > >>

Adriaan78:
Dear fellow collectors,

As I am relatively new to the hobby of collecting late roman bronze coins (coins of constantine the great and his family, especially linking Constantius I) I am happy to find a forum like this one. I have a developing collection of about 20 coins at the moment. As this collection is steadily growing I am in need of some more information resources. I have done some reading on the internet (including the beautiful constantinethegreatcoins.com). Furthermore, I have bought and read the book "Roman Bronze Coins from Paganism to Christianity" by Failmezger. This has taught me some things  but when I read this forum I see such a display of knowledge of coins of the area that makes think that I need to study a lot more before becoming a serious collector. I was planning to buy RIC part VI to VIII but it is relatively expensive with enormous shipping costs (I live in the Netherlands). Could you experienced collector give me some advice?

Kind regards,
Adriaan van Es

Victor:
Hello and welcome. For this period the RIC volumes are indispensable if you want to be a more advanced collector, but as you said, they are not cheap.

After the Failmezger book, I can't think of any that cover this period in a general fashion, just more specialized books, that are mint specific, like Bastien's Lyons mint books, Ferrando's book on the Arles mint, Drost's book on the Ostia mint and Cloke and Toon's London mint book.

I have a page with articles, mostly on 4th century numismatics and related topics that might be of interest--
http://www.constantinethegreatcoins.com/articles/

Adriaan78: