Author Topic: Why has Carthage been assigned as the mint for the Tetrarch FEL KART series?  (Read 842 times)

Offline Pharsalus

I recently received this Maximianus Follis. I've been after one for a while, and this came up at a decent price and is on the heavier side:

AE Follis
Maximianus, 286 - 305 CE
Diameter: 28 mm,  Weight: 11.60 grams,  Die Axis: 6h
Obverse: IMP MAXIMIANVS PF AVG
                 Laureate bust to right.
Reverse: SALVIS AVGG ET CAESS FEL KART
                Personification of Carthage standing left, with fruits in both hands.
Mint: B, Carthage

My question is what are the reasons, other obviously than the reverse legend, that this issue has been assigned to Carthage? Im no expert, but I don't see anything particularly provincial about the die style or legend engraving. These are quite common indicating a very large issue; is there any other LRB series so common issued from Carthage? Are the find spots for this type often in North Africa?

Compare the reverse style to the less common FELIX ADVENT AVGG type, which has the Carthage mint clearly identified (coin and photo credit to Victor's Imperial Coins). I can easily believe that reverse figure has been engraved in Carthage. I'm far less sure about the massive FEL KART series.

Offline Victor

• Administrator
  • all my best friends are dead Romans
    • Victor's Imperial Coins

RIC VI has a bit on it-